Bye-bye Lynx

Belgian Defence yesterday (7 August) launched the procedure to replace the 437 Lynx Light Multirole Vehicles acquired from Italy’s Iveco in 2007, de facto and in under two months completing the modernisation of almost all its fleet of military vehicles.

One of the 437 LMV Lynxs used by Belgian Defence

This new project involves the purchase of “approximately” 440 identical command and liaison vehicles (CLVs) with a maintenance contract. The selection process is expected to be completed by the end of 2018 for initial deliveries expected between 2021 and 2026.

If the “Request For Information” (RFI) provided by the Defence Ministry avoids any mention of cost, the Strategic Vision of Defence Minister Steven Vandeput provides for a budget of €125.05M for the Lynxs operated by the Land component and €16.24m for vehicles in service within the Air/Medical components.

Indeed, the future vehicle will not only be used by ground troops, such as the ISTAR battalion specialised in intelligence gathering, but also by some units of the Air and Medical components.

Unlike the Lynx, which was only delivered with 120 additional kits of armour, the future CLVs will be directly equipped with NATO level 2a/2b protection. Some 80 vehicles will also be armed with a remotely operated turret armed with a 7.62mm machine gun taken directly from Belgian stocks. The communication and battlefield management systems will also come from the Belgian inventory. In addition, the future CLVs will have to be air-transportable by C-130 or by Belgium’s future A400M.

With the publication of this RFI, Belgian Defence has put down the final piece essential to the foundation of its future combined arms powered capacity. Finally, only the transport and engineering capacities remain for the programme to be completed … only a year after Vandeput’s Strategic Vision was launched.

Bye bye Lynx!

La Défense belge a lancé hier, 7 août, la procédure de remplacement des 437 Light Multirole Vehicles « Lynx » acquis auprès de l’Italien Iveco en 2007, concrétisant de facto et en moins de deux mois la modernisation de la quasi-totalité de sa flotte de véhicules militaires.

 

L'un des 437 Lynx LMV utilisés par la Défense belge

L’un des 437 Lynx LMV utilisés par la Défense belge

 

Ce nouveau projet prévoit l’achat d’ « approximativement » 440 véhicules de commandement et de liaison (CLV) identiques assortis d’un contrat de maintenance. Le processus de sélection devrait aboutir d’ici la fin 2018 pour des premières livraisons censées s’étaler entre 2021 et 2026.

 

Si la « Request For Information » fournie par la Défense évite de mentionner le volet budgétaire, la Vision stratégique du ministre de la Défense Steven Vandeput prévoit l’octroi d’un budget de 125,05M€ pour les Lynx opérés par la composante Terre et 16,24M€ pour les véhicules en service au sein des composantes Air/Médicale.

 

En effet, le futur véhicule sera non seulement utilisé par les troupes terrestres, tel le bataillon ISTAR spécialisé dans la collecte de renseignements, mais également par certaines unités des composantes Air et Médicale.

 

Contrairement aux Lynx, qui ne furent livrés qu’avec 120 kits de blindage additionnel, les futurs CLV seront directement dotés d’un niveau de protection OTAN 2a/2b. Quelques 80 véhicules seront également armés d’un tourelleau téléopéré armé d’une mitrailleuse de calibre 7,62 mm directement prélevé dans les stocks belges. Les systèmes de communication et de gestion du champ de bataille proviendront également de l’inventaire belge. En outre, les futurs CLB devront être aérotransportables par C-130 ou par les futurs A400m belges.

 

Avec la publication de cette RFI, la Défense belge apporte la dernière pièce essentielle à la fondation de sa future capacité motorisée interarmes. Ne restent finalement que les capacités de transport et de génie pour que la boucle soit bouclée… un an à peine après l’officialisation de la Vision stratégique de Vandeput.